Know-how

We handle it.
No matter how
challenging complex heavy
it seems.

Pitkowitz & Partners for every case

Our client base is as diverse as the industries in which our clients operate. Whether market leader or market niche – Pitkowitz & Partners writes a success story in the most complex and largest cases on a national and international level. We stand by our clients as a reliable constant, even over the years, whether in litigation, arbitration or strategic consulting activities. Here you’ll find an extract from our practice:

Successful representation of the leading global media giant in the defense of the largest class action ever filed in Europe. The class action was initiated in Austria by (initially) around 75,000 global claimants. Dr. Nikolaus Pitkowitz and Dr. Martin Foerster successfully pled the case on behalf of our client at the CJEU Oral Hearing. The Austrian Supreme Court then also subsequently dismissed this class action (also the largest ever pending in Austria).

Telecommunications & IT

The Dispute Resolution Team represented a client as lead counsel in an ad hoc arbitration in connection with the restitution of a world-famous artwork worth hundreds of millions of dollars. The subject matter included complex issues of restitution law, as well as issues under New York law. We succeeded in achieving full success before the arbitral tribunal.

Art

The Dispute Resolution team successfully acted as lead counsel in an arbitration between the largest Polish energy company and a Swiss energy group regarding the adjustment of a long-term energy supply contract.

Energy and natural resources

Pitkowitz & Partners represents a world-leading Third-Party Funder in a large-scale class action filed in Austria against a German automobile company regarding measures to circumvent statutory limits on automobile emissions.

Automotive industry

The Dispute Resolution team represented a global organization, headquartered in Vienna, in arbitration proceedings before the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA). The arbitral award rendered by the sole arbitrator was a surrounding success for the client as it followed all arguments developed and raised by our team.

Organisational and labour law

The Dispute Resolution Team represented a client in the largest arbitration ever pending in Austria, a shareholder dispute over control of the largest Polish mobile operator with a value in dispute in the billions. We succeeded in getting an arbitration award set aside and in (several) subsequent arbitration proceedings we were able to solidify the client's position to such extent that the client was able to obtain a payment in the billions as part of a settlement.

Telecommunications & IT

Pitkowitz & Partners advises an international producer of components for industrial plants in connection with claims for damages. The main subject of the mandate is alleged defects in the construction of an industrial plant in China.

Construction and plant engineering

Pitkowitz & Partners advises a German investor in connection with a shareholder dispute of a listed energy supplier controlled through Cyprus. The subject of the dispute is a loan agreement. Our Dispute Resolution team was able to obtain two very favorable decisions from the Austrian Supreme Court in the subsequent enforcement proceedings.

Energy and natural resources

Pitkowitz & Partners is advising and representing a primary aluminum producer based in Slovakia as lead counsel in an expert determination against the leading electricity supplier. The dispute involves complex legal issues regarding shares received from state funds under European Union legislation, state laws and on a contractual level. Our firm was selected to represent the client in ICC arbitration proceedings and to assist the client with settlement discussions.

Energy and natural resources

The Real Estate team of Pitkowitz & Partners advises the world's leading provider of shared office spaces and serviced offices on an ongoing basis in all legal matters in Austria.

Our team has played a key role in the implementation of the growth strategy. Among others, Pitkowitz & Partners has advised the client in connection with the development of all new center locations throughout Austria, ranging from high-rise buildings in core business districts to historic buildings in the city center as well as urban development areas.

Our work includes negotiating anchor leases with the building owners – most of whom are large institutional investors such as insurance companies or real estate funds as well as family offices.

We also advise this client on corporate law issues, commercial law, employment law, as well as disputes and contracts with clients.

Office Provider

Know-how

We handle it.
No matter how
challenging complex heavy
it seems.

Pitkowitz & Partners für jeden Fall

Unser Kundenstamm ist so breit gefächert wie die Branchen, in denen unsere Mandanten agieren. Ob Marktführer oder Marktniesche – Pitkowitz & Partners schreibt in den komplexesten und größten Fällen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene Erfolgsgeschichte. Wir stehen unseren Mandanten, auch über Jahre hinweg, als verlässliche Konstante zur Seite, ob bei Prozessen, Schiedsverfahren oder strategischen Beratertätigkeiten. Hier finden Sie einen Auszug unserer Praxis:

Das Dispute Resolution Team vertrat erfolgreich den weltgrößten Social Media Konzerns bei Abwehr der größten in Europa je gegen diesen angestrengten Sammelklage. Die Sammelklage wurde in Österreich von (zunächst) rund 75,000 weltweiten Klägern eingeleitet. Der Europäische Gerichtshof schloss sich den – ebenfalls mündlich von Dr. Nikolaus Pitkowitz und Dr. Martin Foerster plädierten Argumenten – an und ließ die Sammelklage nicht zu. Der österreichische Oberste Gerichtshof wies dann auch in Folge diese (auch größte in Österreich je anhängige) Sammelklage ab.

Telekommunikation & IT

Das Dispute Resolution Team vertrat als Lead Counsel in einem ad hoc Schiedsverfahren im Zusammenhang mit der Restitution eines weltberühmten Kunstwerkes im dreistelliger Millionenhöhe. Gegenständlich waren komplexe Fragen des Restitutionsrechtes, sowie Fragen nach New Yorker Recht. Es gelang einen vollen Erfolg vor dem Schiedsgericht zu erzielen.

Kunst

Das Dispute Resolution Team agierte erfolgreich als Lead Counsel in einem Schiedsverfahren zwischen dem größten polnischen Energieunternehmen und einem Schweizer Energiekonzern in Bezug auf die Änderung eines langfristigen Energielieferungsvertrages.

Energie- und Rohstoffindustrie

Pitkowitz & Partners vertritt einen weltführenden Prozessfinanzierer im Zusammenhang mit der Finanzierung der in Österreich angestrengten Sammelklage gegen einen deutschen Automobilkonzern betreffend Maßnahmen zur Umgehung gesetzlich vorgegebener Grenzwerte für Autoabgase.

Automobilindustrie

Das Dispute Resolution Team vertrat eine internationale Organisation in einem Schiedsverfahren nach den Regeln des PCA (Permanent Court of Arbitration) und konnte einen vollen Prozesserfolg vor einem der weltführenden internationalen Schiedsrichter erreichen.

Organisations- und Arbeitsrecht

Das Dispute Resolution Team vertrat in dem größten in Österreich je anhängigen Schiedsverfahren, einem Gesellschafterstreit, um die Kontrolle an dem größten polnischen Mobilfunkbetreiber mit einem Streitwert in Milliardenhöhe. Es gelang die Aufhebung eines Schiedsspruches zu erreichen und in den (mehreren) nachfolgenden Schiedsverfahren den Standpunkt des Klienten derart zu verfestigen, dass dieser eine Zahlung in Milliardenhöhe im Rahmen eines Vergleichs erzielen konnte.

Telekommunikation & IT

Pitkowitz & Partners betreut einen internationalen Hersteller von Komponenten für Industrieanlagen in Zusammenhang mit Schadenersatzansprüchen. Hauptgegenstand des Mandats sind behauptete Mängel bei der Errichtung einer Industrieanlage in China.

Bauwesen und Anlagenbau

Pitkowitz & Partners vertritt einen deutschen Investor in Zusammenhang mit einem Gesellschafterstreit eines über Zypern kontrollierten, börsennotierten Energielieferunternehmens. Streitpunkt ist ein Darlehensvertrag. Unser Dispute Resolution Team konnte in dem nachfolgenden Vollstreckungsverfahren zwei sehr vorteilhafte Entscheidungen des österreichischen Obersten Gerichtshofs erwirken.

Energie- und Rohstoffindustrie

Pitkowitz & Partners berät und vertritt einen führenden slowakischen Aluminiumproduzenten in einem Schiedsverfahren gegen einen Stromversorger. Streitpunkt sind komplexe Rechtsfragen rund um die Verteilung von staatlichen Zuschüssen nach der Gesetzgebung der Europäischen Union, nach den staatlichen Rechtsvorschriften und auf vertraglicher Ebene. Unser Team bereitet den Mandanten auf das bevorstehende ICC-Schiedsverfahren vor und unterstützt zudem bei Vergleichsgesprächen.

Energie- und Rohstoffindustrie

Pitkowitz & Partners berät den weltweit führenden Anbieter von Shared Office Spaces und sogenannten Serviced Offices fortlaufend in allen rechtlichen Angelegenheiten in Österreich.

Unser Team hat maßgeblich bei der Umsetzung der Wachstumsstrategie mitgewirkt. Unter anderem hat Pitkowitz & Partners den Mandanten österreichweit in Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung von sämtlichen neuen Center-Standorten beraten, die von Hochhäusern in core business districts bis hin zu historischen Gebäuden im Stadtzentrum sowie Stadtentwicklungsgebieten reichen.

Unsere Tätigkeit umfasst die Verhandlung von Ankermietverträgen mit den jeweiligen Gebäudeeigentümern, bei denen es sich meist um große institutionelle Investoren wie Versicherungen oder Immobilienfonds sowie Family Offices handelt.

Darüber hinaus beraten wir den Klienten in gesellschaftsrechtlichen Fragen, im Gewerberecht, im Arbeitsrecht sowie bei Streitigkeiten und Verträgen mit Kunden.

Office Provider